Sculptra

Frequently asked

Questions

What is Sculptra®?

Sculptra® is a polymerized sugar in the form of microparticles which acts as a biostimulator. This means that when injected into the tissues, it creates a small inflammatory reaction which gives the signal to stimulate the production of collagen and to regenerate it. During Sculptra® treatments, your own collagen acts as a filler to restore structure and volume to the face. Injected more superficially, Sculptra® improves the quality of your skin and firms it. The entire process consists of 3-6 injection sessions of Sculptra® at 6-week intervals. The result of the treatment is gradual, natural and builds over several months. Results can last 2-5 years, however an annual maintenance session is recommended.

How does the treatment take place? Does it hurt?

The treatment contains anesthesia (lidocaine) which makes it very comfortable. The Sculptra® works very well with the cannula, which minimizes entry points at injection sites and small bruises. The duration of a session is approximately 30 minutes.

Which areas can be treated with Sculptra ®?

All areas of the face can be treated except dark circles, lips, and the immediate perioral area. When a treatment plan requires addressing multiple areas of the face with hyaluronic acid fillers, or when skin quality requires some work – Sculptra® becomes the most cost-effective option for the patient in the long-term. However, one does not exclude the other! The combination of the two options (filling with Sculptra ® as well as with hyaluronic acid products) sometimes allows for a faster and more precise result.

Sculptra® treatments have also gained popularity for buttock fillers, cellulite dimples, skin quality treatment of various areas of the body, such as the decolleté.

What can I expect after the treatment? We see the results after how long?

For the first few days after treatment, your face may feel swollen and tender. After a week, you may feel like nothing is happening because final results may take 6-8 weeks to appear. The first sessions generally give some luminosity and a significant improvement in the quality of the skin. However, the effect on the facial structure can take up to 3-6 months. Once the signal is given, your body will need time to produce its own collagen.

Are there any risks associated with the treatment?

There is a risk of small bruises or transient discomfort at the injection sites. The intravascular injection is very rare and very unlikely with our injection techniques. Rare cases of temporary collagen nodules have been reported with more concentrated dilutions than the one currently used. Asymetries are possible but unlikely because the treatment makes it possible to readjust and redistribute the doses to be injected into each area during subsequent sessions. Rare cases of infections and abnormal inflammatory responses have been reported in the literature. Although very rare, side effects are always regrettable. Our clinic has great expertise with Sculptra® and we are always ready to accompany you and take care of you quickly in the event of an undesirable side effect.

Is the treatment expensive? How much treatment will I need?

Sculptra® treatments are more expensive than hyaluronic acid fillers in the short term, but they are much more cost effective in the long term. Since our capacity for collagen production is proportional with age, a patient in her thirties could expect to require 3-4 of Sculptra spread over 2-4 sessions. A patient in her 40s might need 4-5 bottles, a patient in her 50s 5-6 bottles, and so on. However, an annual maintenance treatment is usually enough to maintain the results. For patients aged 60 and over, 2 bottles may sometimes be necessary for maintenance treatment.

How do I know if I am a good candidate?

You may be a good candidate for Sculptra ® if you have several areas to fill in a single treatment plan or if you have needs in terms of improving the quality (laxity, wrinkles, pores, etc.) of your skin.

How to start the process?

It all starts with a consultation with a member of our medical team. Make your appointment with us now.

Book a

Consultation

Book Consultation
Find Us
1832 Sherbrooke W. St. 2nd floor
Montreal, QC H3H 1E4

Sculptra

Foire au

Questions

Qu’est-ce qu’est le Sculptra®?

Le Sculptra® est un sucre polymérisé sous forme de microparticules qui agit comme biostimulateur. Ceci veut dire que lorsque est injecté dans les tissus, il crée une petite réaction inflammatoire qui donne le signal de stimuler la production de collagène et de le régénérer. Lors des traitements de Sculptra®, c’est votre propre collagène qui agit comme agent de comblement pour redonner structure et volume au visage. En nappage plus superficiel, le Sculptra® permet d’améliorer la qualité de votre peau et de la raffermir. Le processus au complet consiste en 3-6 séances d’injection de Sculptra® à des intervalles de 6 semaines. Le résultat du traitement est graduel, naturel et se construit sur plusieurs mois. Les résultats peuvent durer 2-5 ans, cependant une séance annuelle d’entretien est recommandée.

Comment le traitement se déroule-t-il? Est-ce qu’il fait mal?

Le traitement contient une anesthésie (lidocaïne) qui le rend ainsi très confortable. La Sculptra® se travaille très bien avec la canule, ce qui réduit les points d’entrée aux sites d’injection et les risques de bleus. La durée d’une séance est d’environ 30 min.

Quelles zones peuvent être traitées avec le Sculptra ®?

Toutes les zones du visage peuvent être traitées sauf les cernes, les lèvres et la zone périorale immédiate. Lorsqu’un plan de traitement nécessite d’aborder plusieurs zones du visage avec des agents de comblement à l’acide hyaluronique, ou que la qualité de la peau nécessite un certain travail – Le Sculptra® devient l’option la plus rentable pour le patient à long terme. Cependant, l’un n’exclut pas l’autre! La combinaison des deux options (Sculptra ® et agents à base d’acide hyaluronique) permet parfois un résultat plus rapide et précis.

Les traitements au Sculptra® ont aussi pris de la popularité au niveau du comblement des fesses, des capitons de cellulite, du traitement de la qualité de la peau de diverses zones du corps, tel que le décolleté.

À quoi m’attendre à la suite du traitement? On voit les résultats après combien de temps?

Les premiers jours après le traitement, le visage peut être enflé et sensible. Après une semaine, vous aurez peut-être l’impression que rien ne se passe, les effets pouvant prendre jusqu’à 6-8 semaines avant de se manifester. Les premières séances donnent généralement une certaine luminosité et une amélioration significative de la qualité de la peau. Cependant, l’effet sur la structure du visage peut prendre jusqu’à 3-6 mois. Une fois le signal donné, votre corps aura besoin de temps pour produire son propre collagène.

Est-ce qu’il y a des risques associés au traitement?

Il y a des risques de petits bleus ou d’inconfort transitoire aux sites d’injections. L’injection intravasculaire est très rare et très peu probable avec nos techniques d’injection. De rares cas de nodules de collagène temporaires ont été rapportés avec des dilutions plus concentrées que celle présentement utilisées. Les asymétries sont possibles mais peu probables, car le traitement permet de réajuster et redistribuer les doses à injecter dans chaque zone lors des séances subséquentes. De rares cas infections et des réponses inflammatoires anormales ont été rapporté dans la littérature. Quoique très rares, les effets indésirables sont toujours regrettables. Notre clinique possède une grande expertise avec le Sculptra® et nous sommes toujours prêts pour vous accompagner et vous prendre en charge rapidement advenant un effet secondaire indésirable.

Est-ce que le traitement est dispendieux? Combien de traitement aurais-je besoin?

Les traitements de Sculptra® sont plus dispendieux que les agents de comblements à l’acide hyaluronique à court terme, mais ils sont nettement plus rentables à long terme. Puisque notre capacité de production de collagène est proportionnelle à l’âge, une patiente dans la trentaine pourrait s’attendre à nécessiter 3-4 bouteilles de Sculptra réparties sur 2-4 séances. Une patiente dans la quarantaine, pourrait nécessiter 4-5 bouteilles, une patiente dans la cinquantaine 5-6 bouteilles, et ainsi de suite. Cependant, un traitement d’entretien annuel avec 1-2 bouteilles est généralement suffisant pour maintenir les résultats.

Comment savoir si je suis une bonne candidate?

Vous êtes une bonne candidate au Sculptra ®si vous avez plusieurs zones à combler dans un seul plan de traitement ou si vous avez des besoins en termes d’amélioration de la qualité de votre peau (laxité, rides, pores, etc.).

Comment débuter le processus?

Le tout commence avec une consultation avec un membre de notre équipe médicale. Prenez votre rendez-vous avec nous dès maintenant!

Réservez une

Consultation

Book Consultation
Find Us
1832 Sherbrooke W. St. 2nd floor
Montreal, QC H3H 1E4